Monday, May 15, 2017

the formation of the IIHF

today in 1908 the International Ice Hockey Formation was created in Paris.  Belgium, France, Great Britain and Bohemia (now Czech Republic)  were the first four members.  Louis Magnus was the fifth person to sign and also became the first IIHF president.  it was known under its French name - Ligue International de Hockey sur Glace (LIHG) until 1954 when it adopted its current English name.  it has now 74 members and has several tournaments from the World Juniors to the U18's the World Championships, Women's hockey and the Olympics and even inline hockey.

No comments: